home
 
 

FAQ

Update to Clarity 7.0 will change the installation folder structure. How can I preserve the previous Clarity installation data in case I want to revert back?

In Clarity version 7.0 a new organisation of the installation folder structure has been implemented to separate the program files (*.dll, *.chm), configuration settings (*.ini, *.cfg) and the user data (*.prj, *.cal).

During the update, installation wizard will automatically move files to new locations. Once this is performed, it is not easy to revert back to the previous version (i.e Clarity 6.2).

Suppose that you have Clarity version 6.2 and you want to update to Clarity 7.0 To make sure that you can revert back any time after updating to Clarity 7.0, perform the following steps:

  1. Make a backup of your projects, chromatograms, etc.
  2. Uninstall current Clarity version (6.2).
  3. Start the installer of Clarity 7.0 or higher.
    1. Change the Destination Folder to C:\Clarity7 or other.
      (Otherwise it would be installed over the previous installation.)
      previous-installation
    2. Set data location to C:\Clarity7\DataFiles.
    new-data-location
    c. Finish the installation.
  4. To preserve your original configuration, copy the following configuration files from the original installation (6.2) to the new installation (7.0) CFG subfolder:
    1. Clarity.cfg (and potentially any other *.cfg files)
    2. Clarity.dsk (and potentially any other *.dsk files)
    3. Clarity.sno
    4. Clarity.psw

Reverting back to previous Clarity

When revert is needed, perform following steps:

  1. Uninstall the new version (7.0)
  2. Install the previous version to the original installation folder (C:\Clarity). The one used before update to 7.0

Note that once you update to Clarity 7.0, Desktop files (*.dsk) are not compatible with previous versions of Clarity (6.2)!

Send comment5.5.2016
 

Go back  Back to: FAQ
 
Facebook Twitter Youtube  DataApex Clarity
Downloads
HTML navigation
Sitemap
Print
Last updated: 2019-05-16 | webmaster