home
 
 

FAQ

System Configuration is lost, what is wrong?

This problem is caused by the wrong configuration file saved when the computer was shut down while Clarity was running. Normally, Clarity saves data to its configuration file when exiting. When the computer is shut down while doing this, the clarity.cfg file may be corrupted and cannot be used in Clarity next time it is opened.

The corruption of the clarity.cfg file may happen in numerous ways - when the computer is switched of while the Clarity is running, while experiencing some fluctuations in the power system or, which seems to be the cause of your client according to the lunch time, when the computer is switched to the sleep mode while Clarity is open, but not running. While the analysis in Clarity is running, Clarity can block the switching to the Sleep mode, but without an active analysis, it can't do so. Thus, when in sleep mode, the computer loses the communication between Clarity and the A/D converter and/or hardware key, and Clarity switches to the demo mode, destroying the configuration. Backup configuration must be used than.

To solve the problem: All data, such as methods, sequences, data files, calibrations etc. are saved on demand, and are not corrupted when similar situation arises. On the other hand, the clarity.cfg file holds the information on the path to these working directories (if set in the Directories dialog accessible via the System - Directories command from the main Clarity window). It is thus necessary to set these directories or select the project that was used before once more on each Clarity Instrument. Unfortunately, the clarity.cfg file is corrupted and the System Configuration settings are lost, so they must be set in the System Configuration dialog manually once more. To repair the damage, follow this process:

  • Open Clarity and ensure that you are not in the demo mode (there would be Clarity Demo written in the heading of the main Clarity window). If you are in Clarity Demo, download full version from our download section and enter the correct User code.
  • Open the System Configuration dialog and configure your system manually (eg. add detectors, LC's, GC's, valves and so on to the configuration, fill in their settings as desired, and distribute them to particular instrument, as intended.
  • Close the System Configuration dialog and exit the station. The clarity.cfg file was now saved with the correct settings of the configuration.
  • Open the Clarity once more.
  • If you had the Directories dialog set before, use the System - Directories command from the Clarity window to set it once more. Then close the dialog.
  • Open the Instrument. You might get the information similar to "the current method was prepared on different configuration. Some parametres will be used in default format", if you opened and then saved the method after the clarity.cfg file was corrupted.
  • Load the desired project to the Instrument; Default clarity.cfg file has Work1 directory set as the project directory, you have, most probably, created your own project before the shutdown. Use the File - Project command, select the appropriate project from the list and press the Open button.

The station should now be in the configuration as before the fall. If the method was opened and saved after the fall of the configuration, there might be necessary to check/set some parametres, mainly on the Method Setup - Acquisition and Method Setup - Measurement tabs (as the demo mode resets the settings of detectors and removes them from the configuration).
To prevent from happening this in future: supposing that the cause of the problem was really the sleep mode of the operation system, switch it off according to the following procedure:

  • In windows XP, use the Start menu and open the Control Pannels. There select the Power Options icon (you may have to switch to the Classic view).
  • Set the System standby and System hibernates options to Never (as shown in the picture).
  • In Windows 7 and later turn off the sleep mode in Control Panel\Hardware and Sound\Power Options\Edit Plan Settings.

Backup

  • Apply changes and use OK to exit this dialog.

The corruption should be prevented for the future. Of course, if it was caused by another reason, such as instabilities in the power network, only good stabilized backup power source may help.

Send comment28.4.2011
 

Go back  Back to: FAQ
 
Facebook Twitter Youtube  DataApex Clarity
Downloads
HTML navigation
Sitemap
Print
Last updated: 2017-08-31 | webmaster